Gender Equality Committee (GEC)

The Gender Equality Committee (GEC) of the International Cooperative Alliance is a catalyst for change to make gender equality a reality in all cooperatives and serves as forum for the discussion and exchange of experiences and ideas on issues related to gender equality. 

The GEC's vision is of a cooperative movement led by women and men and based upon equity, solidarity, democracy, and development. In this vision, women's and men's values, skills, and contributions are valued equally and the organisation of work and decision-making structures are based on all people's needs and views. The realisation of this vision will not only make the cooperative movement and societies truly democratic and more successful but also contribute to the achievement of sustainable development, as outlined in the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. 

The Gender Equality Committee is a thematic committee of the International Cooperative Alliance which promotes equality between women and men and gender integration in the cooperative movement and society. It was formerly known as the Global Women's Committee. The Americas, Asia-Pacific and Europe organisations of the International Cooperative Alliance have created regional committees. Get in touch with the Gender Equality Committee. 

Executive Committee

María Eugenia Pérez Zea, Colombia (Chair)

Xiomara Núñez de Céspedes, Dominican Republic (Vice-Chair)

Marjaana Saarikoski, Finland (Vice-Chair)

Nandini Azad, India (Chair Asia Pacific Women’s Committee -ICA-AP)

Arti Bisaria, India

Vanya Boyuklieva, Central Co-operative Union, Bulgaria

Stefania Marcone, Alleanza Cooperative Italiane, Italy

Malena Riudavets, Spain


Latin American coops meet Scandinavian coops
07 Jun 2019

Following the creation of the International Cooperative…

04 Jun 2019

The International Cooperative Agricultural Organization…

Nepalese Cooperative leader with the Director-General of the Internatinal Co-operative Alliance, Mr. Bruno Roelants
28 May 2019

The ICA welcomed members from Nepal and Korea to…