The World Co-operative Monitor

The main goal of the World Co-operative Monitor project produced by Euricse and the Alliance is to develop a multi-dimensional database reporting on the socio-economic value and impact of co-operatives both within a global scenario and in their regional and national contexts.

The 2017 World Co-operative Monitor collected data for 2,379 organisations from 8 sectors of activity, 1,436 of which had a turnover of more than USD100m. The Top 300 co-operatives and mutuals report a total turnover of 2,164.23 billion USD.

The world’s top 300 co-operatives operate in different sectors: insurance (41%), agriculture (30%), wholesale and retail trade (19%), banking and financial services (6%), industry and utilities (1%), health, education and social care (1%) and other services (1%).

The World Co-operative Monitor is the successor to the former Global 300 project. Global 300 archives from 2004 to 2008 can be downloaded from this webpage's side bar menu. 

Back to top

How the Monitor benefits your co-operative

Dame Pauline Green, President of the International Co-operative Alliance (2009-2015), at the release of the 2014 Monitor adequately summarized the benefits of a wide co-operative support for the Monitor: “The importance of the World Co-operative Monitor cannot be understated. Not only is it a crucial tool which we can use to raise the profile of co-operatives to policy-makers and industry professionals, but it also provides an incredibly useful starting point for researchers and academics alike. The 2015 edition's 6.9% increase in the figures for the world's largest 300 co-operative and mutual businesses is a great tribute to the growing strength of our sector of the global economy.  This is a remarkable achievement for a model of business that is not present on the world's stock markets and is often invisible to the economic commentators and political leaders. Co-operatives have been given a precious tool which I strongly encourage them to use to demonstrate how important our enterprise model is". 

Take the short amount of time needed to enter your co-op's details for 2018 version.

Back to top

Steering committee

CARLO BORZAGA is Professor of Economic Policy at the University of Trento (Italy), Faculty of Economics. He is currently the President of Euricse and chairs the Master’s Programme in Management of Social Enterprises (GIS) at the University of Trento.
MAURIZIO CARPITA is Full Professor of Statistics at the University of Brescia (Italy) and Director of the Research Center ‘Data Methods and Systems’ at the University of Brescia.
PANU KALMI (Ph.D.) is a Professor of Economics at the University of Vaasa (Finland), and is a member of the Academic Think-tank of the European Association of Co- operative Banks.
LOU HAMMOND KETILSON (Ph.D.) is Director of the Centre for the Study of Cooperatives, an interdisciplinary teaching and research unit, and Professor at the Edwards School of Business, University of Saskatchewan (Canada).
AKIRA KURIMOTO is Professor of Institute for Solidarity-based Society at Hosei University, Tokyo and Director of Consumer Co-operative Institute of Japan. He served as Chair of the ICA (International Co-operative Alliance) Research Committee (2001-2005).  He is the Vice Chair of the ICA Asian Research Committee and member of the ICA Principles Committee.
SIGISMUNDO BIALOSKORSKI NETO is Full Professor and Academic Coordinator of the Cooperatives Organizations Study Program and of the Center for Organization Studies. He is also a member of the ICA Research Committee. Professor Neto is Director of the Department of Business Administration and Accountancy in the Faculty of Economics of the University of São Paulo at Ribeirão Preto (Brazil).
SONJA NOVKOVIC is a Professor of Economics at Saint Mary’s University (Canada). Currently, she is the Academic Co-lead of the Measuring the Co-operative Difference Research Network (MCDRN) with the Canadian Co-operative Association.
ELIANE O’SHAUGHNESSY  is Senior Manager, Office of the Chair of the Board, President & CEO of Desjardins Group. She also plays a leading role in the organization of the International Summit of Cooperatives. For more than 10 years, Eliane O’Shaughnessy worked for large international management consulting firms as senior consultant in business strategy, organizational design and change management. She advised many businesses from different industries focusing more specifically on financial cooperatives. She holds an M. Sc. in business administration.
GREG PATMORE is Professor of Business and Labour History and Director of the Business and Labour History Group and the Co-operative Research Group in the School of Business, The University of Sydney (Australia). He also chairs the School’s Ethics Committee.
GIANLUCA SALVATORI is Chief Executive Officer of Euricse, since 2009 he is also President and CEO of Progetto Manifattura, a company established by Trentino Region's Government with the mission of re-developing an old industrial site to host an "innovation hub" on geen and clean technologies.
BARRY W. SILVER has been working as an Executive Vice President at the National Cooperative Bank in Washington, DC, for over three decades in the Corporate Lending Division. Barry has an M.B.A. from American University and has been a cooperative financial consultant for the World Bank and USAID in China and South America. He has a total of 35 years’ experience working with co-operatives.
BALU SUBRAMANIAN (IYER) is the Regional Director of the International Co-operative Alliance Asia-Pacific office. Mr. Iyer has a rich background in co-operative development, international development operations and manage-ment and public policy.
FREDRICK O. WANYAMA is an Associate Professor of Political Science and Director of the School of Development and Strategic Studies at Maseno University (Kenya). He has served as a consultant for the ILO on many projects on co-operatives and the social economy in Africa.
VISIT us at for more information!


18 Oct 2019

Today, in the framework of an inter-ministerial meeting…

17 Oct 2019

The ICA General Assembly has adopted a